News
DrillFake Publishing

How Many Calories Are in a Pizza Slice—and How Far Off Can You Be?

A regular 14-inch cheese-pizza slice contains about 285 calories when the pie is cut into eight and the slice weighs 107 grams; USDA FoodData Central reports 266 calories per 100 grams. Domino’s April 2024 guide puts one-eighth of its 12-inch hand-tossed cheese pizza at 200 calories, while the USDA’s 111-gram 14-inch pepperoni slice reaches 313 calories, so a defensible starting range is 200–315 calories before extra cheese, added oil, or an unusually large cut.

What is the best single-number estimate for one pizza slice?

Use 285 calories when all you know is “one regular cheese slice.” That number comes from USDA FoodData Central entry 173292, “Fast Food, Pizza Chain, 14-inch pizza, cheese topping, regular crust.” The database gives the whole pizza a weight of 853 grams and one slice a weight of 107 grams. Those portions correspond to roughly eight slices. At the listed energy density of 266 calories per 100 grams, the calculation is:

`107 g × 266 calories ÷ 100 g = 284.62 calories`

Round that to 285 for a food log. The underlying data are already estimates, and false precision will not rescue an uncertain portion.

Here is the useful boundary around that answer. The 285-calorie figure fits a regular-crust, 14-inch chain pizza with cheese. It does not describe every triangular piece called a slice. A 12-inch chain slice may be smaller; a food-court slice may be cut from a much larger pie; a pan crust can carry more dough and fat. If the restaurant or package supplies pizza nutrition facts for the exact product, those figures outrank the generic USDA match.

Which measurements explain the calorie range?

Pizza calories move with mass first. Diameter, number of cuts, crust, cheese, meat, and finishing oil determine how much edible pizza lands on the plate and how energy-dense it is.

The four documented portions below show why one universal number fails:

| Documented pizza | Diameter and cut | Slice weight | Calories per 100 g | Calories per slice | |---|---:|---:|---:|---:| | USDA chain cheese, regular crust | 14 inches; about 1/8 | 107 g | 266 | 285 | | USDA chain pepperoni, regular crust | 14 inches; about 1/8 | 111 g | 282 | 313 | | Domino’s hand-tossed cheese | 12 inches; 1/8 | 85.4 g from listed components | Not stated | 200 | | Domino’s hand-tossed pepperoni | 12 inches; 1/8 | 83.4 g from listed components | Not stated | 210 |

The USDA values are from FoodData Central entries 173292 and 173295. Its pepperoni entry lists an 895-gram pie and a 111-gram slice, again corresponding to approximately eight pieces. The Domino’s totals come from adding the component weights and rounded calories in the company’s April 2024 Nutrition Guide; they should not be treated as laboratory measurements of a finished slice.

Diameter deserves more respect than it gets. A 14-inch circle has about 36% more area than a 12-inch circle because area changes with the square of the radius. Cut count can erase or enlarge that difference. One-sixth of a pie contains one-third more pizza area than one-eighth of the same pie when the cuts are even. Domino’s own guide illustrates the trap: its 12-inch medium hand-tossed pizza uses a one-eighth serving, while its 12-inch New York Style page uses one-sixth.

How much do cheese, pepperoni, and oil change a slice?

Ingredient names tell only half the story. The applied weight tells the other half.

For one-eighth of a 12-inch hand-tossed cheese pizza, the Domino’s spec sheet assigns 27 grams of regular cheese and 70 calories. On a pizza carrying other toppings, the same guide reduces regular cheese to 18 grams and 50 calories. Its pepperoni allowance is 7 grams and 30 calories per slice. As a result, the documented pepperoni build totals 210 calories, only 10 above the documented cheese-only build at 200. Adding 30 to the cheese-pizza total would overcount because the cheese portion changed.

The USDA comparison holds portion mass constant and answers a different question. Cheese pizza is listed at 266 calories per 100 grams; pepperoni is 282. A 107-gram portion therefore works out to 285 calories for cheese and 302 for pepperoni, a 17-calorie difference. The USDA pepperoni slice reaches 313 because it also weighs four grams more than the listed cheese slice.

Oil is easy to miss because it may appear as pan grease, dough oil, or a finish on the crust. USDA FoodData Central entry 171413 lists one tablespoon of olive oil at 13.5 grams and 884 calories per 100 grams, which works out to about 119 calories per tablespoon. If one added tablespoon remains in an eight-slice pizza, it contributes about 15 calories to each slice. Two tablespoons contribute about 30 per slice.

Domino’s specifies this hidden line item too: its 12-inch hand-tossed build includes 1.4 grams and 10 calories of garlic oil blend per one-eighth pizza. The fridge beside me has gone quiet again as I check that small line in the guide; it is exactly the sort of component that disappears when a menu name replaces a product record.

Is pepperoni the right comparison with cheese pizza?

Yes. Pepperoni is the useful neighboring estimate because diners commonly choose it in place of cheese, and “pepperoni pizza slice calories” appears beside this search. The comparison stays honest only when portion mass, diameter, crust, and cut count are held steady.

Using the two USDA 14-inch entries without adjustment produces 285 calories for cheese and 313 for pepperoni, a 28-calorie gap. That gap combines two effects: the pepperoni food is denser by 16 calories per 100 grams, and its listed slice is four grams heavier. At the same 107-gram mass, the gap narrows to 17 calories.

The Domino’s comparison gives 200 versus 210 calories because the pepperoni recipe carries nine grams less cheese and seven grams of pepperoni. Neither comparison is wrong. Each answers for a particular build. What fails is borrowing the crust from one source, the cheese from another, then attaching a generic topping increment as though those pieces came from the same sold pizza.

I learned that distinction at a beverage freight desk, where a damaged pallet once arrived under two product descriptions. The shipping papers identified what moved; the package and batch settled what was actually sold. Pizza claims deserve the same discipline. Match the restaurant, size, crust, cut, and toppings before trusting the calorie line.

How many calories are in a 12-inch pizza slice?

One slice of a 12-inch Domino’s medium hand-tossed pizza has 200 calories for cheese and 210 for pepperoni under the company’s April 2024 component guide, with each serving defined as one-eighth of the pie.

The cheese slice consists of 42 grams of crust, 1.4 grams of garlic oil blend, 15 grams of pizza sauce, and 27 grams of cheese. Those listed components total 85.4 grams and 200 calories. The pepperoni version uses the same crust, oil, and sauce, plus 18 grams of cheese and 7 grams of pepperoni, for 83.4 grams and 210 calories.

That is a chain-specific answer, not a diameter conversion. A 12-inch pizza cut into six creates larger pieces than the same pizza cut into eight. A thick crust or extra-cheese order changes the build again. For the search phrase “pizza slice calories 12 inch,” the cut count belongs beside the diameter every time.

If you searched “Costco cheese pizza slice calories,” use the current nutrition posting at the warehouse where the slice was sold. I could not verify a current official public Costco nutrition sheet for September 2026, and copying an aggregator’s figure would create confidence without a matched product record. A large food-court cut should never inherit the 200-calorie Domino’s number merely because both items are called cheese pizza.

How can you estimate a slice when no nutrition label is available?

A scale and an evidence-matched calorie density give the strongest estimate available at home. This procedure takes less guesswork than judging triangle size from a photograph:

  1. Weigh the edible slice in grams. Put the plate on a kitchen scale, tare it to zero, then add the slice. Record the gram weight before eating.
  2. Choose the closest documented density. Use 266 calories per 100 grams for regular-crust chain cheese pizza or 282 for regular-crust chain pepperoni, both from USDA FoodData Central. A visibly different pan, stuffed, or thin crust needs its own package or restaurant source.
  3. Multiply grams by calories per 100 grams, then divide by 100. A 125-gram cheese slice is `125 × 266 ÷ 100 = 332.5`, so log about 333 calories.
  4. Account for a known finish. Add roughly 15 calories per slice when one tablespoon of olive oil was added to an eight-slice pie and remained in the edible pizza. Count extra cheese from its package label when you know the applied weight.

Weighing solves the largest visible uncertainty. If you log a 127-gram slice as the USDA’s 107-gram slice, the missing 20 grams represent about 53 calories at the cheese-pizza density. Misclassifying 107 grams of pepperoni as cheese changes the estimate by about 17 calories. In that example, portion error is three times the topping-category error.

No scale? Use the restaurant’s size and cut count, then choose a documented comparable build. Record a range when crust thickness or extra cheese remains unknown. A single-number guess can look tidy in an app while concealing every unresolved variable.

How far off can a pizza calorie estimate be?

There is no universal “safe” error allowance for an unlabeled restaurant slice. For calorie tracking, safety means making the uncertainty visible and choosing an estimate that matches your purpose. If exceeding a target matters more than undershooting it, log the upper end of your evidence-based range. That is a tracking choice, not a medical threshold.

Even printed labels have bounded precision. FDA nutrition-label rules permit calories above 50 to be rounded to the nearest 10-calorie increment. FDA guidance for nutrition databases also treats calories as a “Third Group” nutrient: in a composite analysis used for compliance, the measured value must be no more than 120% of the declared value. That regulatory test does not guarantee that every hand-built restaurant slice sits within 20% of its posted number.

Use these practical confidence levels:

When my own match is incomplete, I prefer an honest interval over a precise fiction. The open question is usually the slice’s mass. Twenty grams can move a regular cheese estimate by 53 calories; that is worth measuring when daily totals matter to you.

Pizza-slice calorie FAQ

Is one slice of pizza okay on a diet?

Yes. One pizza slice can fit a calorie-controlled diet when its portion and the rest of the day match your target. A USDA 107-gram regular cheese slice is about 285 calories. “Okay” depends on your energy needs, meal pattern, and medical guidance; the slice itself does not determine the diet’s outcome.

How much pizza is 500 calories?

Five hundred calories equals about 1.75 USDA 14-inch cheese slices at 285 calories each, or 2.5 Domino’s 12-inch hand-tossed cheese slices at 200 each. Those fractions show why the source matters. For a real order, use its nutrition facts and serving cut rather than converting from diameter alone.

What do 400 calories of pizza look like?

Four hundred calories is two Domino’s 12-inch hand-tossed cheese slices at 200 calories each. Against the USDA 14-inch cheese reference, it is about 1.4 slices because each 107-gram piece has roughly 285 calories. Appearance alone cannot identify 400 calories when crust thickness, cheese weight, and cut size differ.

How many calories are in two pepperoni slices?

Two pepperoni slices contain about 626 calories using the USDA’s 313-calorie, 111-gram 14-inch reference. Two Domino’s 12-inch hand-tossed pepperoni slices total 420 calories under its April 2024 guide. A useful answer is therefore 420–626 calories for these documented portions; match the restaurant, diameter, crust, and cut before logging.

How many calories are in a 12-inch pizza slice?

A 12-inch Domino’s medium hand-tossed slice has 200 calories for cheese or 210 for pepperoni when the pie is cut into eight. That figure comes from the company’s April 2024 Nutrition Guide. Another 12-inch pizza can differ if it is cut into six, uses pan crust, or carries extra cheese or oil.

How can I estimate a slice without nutrition facts?

Weigh the slice in grams, multiply by a comparable USDA energy density, and divide by 100. Use 266 calories per 100 grams for regular-crust cheese or 282 for pepperoni. A 125-gram cheese slice estimates to 333 calories. Add known oil or extra cheese separately, using its measured amount and label.

Mariusz Contreras
© DrillFake Publishing
About the publicationContact the deskPrivacy